Patience, Trust & Fertilizer

Have you ever felt like you have been putting effort into something and aren’t seeing results? Or you have great hopes for a specific outcome of a situation, but yet the situation remains hopeless? I think you should read today’s gospel reading from Luke 13:6-9.

And he told them this parable:
“There once was a person who had a fig tree planted in his orchard,
and when he came in search of fruit on it but found none,
he said to the gardener,
‘For three years now I have come in search of fruit on this fig tree
but have found none.
So cut it down.
Why should it exhaust the soil?’
He said to him in reply,
‘Sir, leave it for this year also,
and I shall cultivate the ground around it and fertilize it;
it may bear fruit in the future…’”

The master grew tired of waiting for this tree to produce the fruit it was supposed to produce. Maybe you can relate? There are many times in life when you might become frustrated with things not going according to your plan, or your timeline. In those moments it is so easy to give up. To throw in the towel and put your time, hope, and energy into something else. The problem with this is that y o u r plan and timeline are what you are focusing on. I am so guilty of doing this!

The Lord has the best plans for you!! ‘Plans for your welfare, and not for woe. Plans for a future full of hope’ (Jeremiah 29:1!), to ‘give good gifts to those who ask’ (Matthew 7:11). We ‘do not know the day or the hour’ (Matthew 24:42) of The Lord’s plans. But we can trust that they are good. That they are worth waiting and persevering for.

When I prayed with this passage what struck me was the end, the gardeners response. “I shall cultivate the ground around it and fertilize it; it may bear fruit in the future.” My job is not to idly wait around for The Lord’s work to come about in my life; to complain when it ‘takes too long’. My job is to cultivate the areas of my life that need the most work. Areas where I know He is working.

We must prepare ourselves, prepare our hearts, to receive the good gifts that The Lord has for us. Our lives, must be full of thing’s that will help nourish the gifts that The Lord gives. We already each have so many gifts; but, we may not be cultivating or fertilizing our souls so that those gifts can be used and bear fruit in our lives.

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” (Gal 5:22-23)

I would LOVE to be someone who lives these beautiful qualities, I’m sure you would too. I mean really who wouldn’t?! {Sainthood = goals!}

Today I am reminded of a simple truth. To be patient with myself, patient with The Lord, and to trust in his timing. While I wait, I will do my best, to surround myself with good things. Things that help me grow in holiness. Things, that will cultivate an environment in my heart where – in time – beautiful gifts can grow, and flourish.

Leave a Reply

