Making a New Years Resolution You Can Keep

It’s that time of year again! The Christmas festivities [and meals] are over. Now onto the next ‘day of celebration’, New Years. With a new year comes joy, hope, optimism, ‘permission’ to start a new, and gym discounts for everybody who signs up for a year!

I always feel kind of intimidated at the thought of making a new years resolution; Like I need to make it a really good one, chose the best resolution I can make! … but, what if I can’t keep it?! 

new years

I think that’s half of the intimidation. I am competitive, so I want to do the best. But I can also be a quitter if the thing I am working at seems to hard/difficult/’impossible’. That’s a quality I wish I could change…hmm, maybe I will someday… So, in the end I usually end up not really making a solid resolution at all, just more of some ideas. Nothing to specific or concrete. Here’s the problem though, I need rules, structure, direction, as a guide for keeping myself in line and on target.

This year I have decided that I need to ‘cowboy up’, make a tangible resolution and stick to it! It doesn’t need to be huge or the best, but it would be good for me to make one and really follow through.

In making my resolution I don’t just want to say the generic – vague ‘lose weight’ although I honestly need to put that on the list. I want my resolution to help me grow not only in discipline, but also in virtue. Something that will help be to become a better person, and help make the world a better place. That is the key to a good resolution! When you decide to do something for the right reasons you will be more motivated to keep it up even when it’s hard because it means something to you. I’m going to have to pray about this as it pertains to me some more and then continue writing [it’s currently Dec 22nd].

Okay, I’m  back! It’s December 28th and I have been thinking, praying, discussing a little bit with my husband, and, I have made my resolution. This one is a big one… But I feel like it is going to be good for me on a number of different levels; in terms of my improving my will power, discipline, self-control, physical health, mental health, and body image.

So, here it is … *Drum roll* … I have decided to take on the Paleo Diet. (which is why I had to discuss with the hubby first, because by default he is now doing it too). The Paleo Diet seems to be taking North America by storm. I had never heard of it prior to a few years ago, and now I have met tons of people who are on it, or have tried it out. My mother-in-law has also been strictly Paleo for a few years now and the food she makes is actually (I was surprised initially!) so good.

Pa·le·o di·et
ˈpeɪlioʊ ˌdīət/
noun
 – a diet based on the types of foods presumed to have been eaten by early humans, consisting chiefly of meat, fish, vegetables, and fruit, and excluding dairy or grain products and processed food.
“I’ve recently started the Paleo diet and have also given up caffeine”

I personally just have WAY to much of an addiction to sugar, and salt, AND I over eat in general. SO, this is going to be so good for me to break those addictions and habits, as well as develop some good ones. I had my baby February of this year and while I only have a little bit of baby weight to lose before I am back at my pre-pregnancy weight I look and feel more out of shape than I did before. My baby is another motivator. I have looking at labels on food for her, and then for myself too, and thought ‘What is this? (as I stumble through pronouncing different ingredients) I don’t want to feed this to her’.  It got me thinking then why am I eating these things?

How will this help me grow in virtue? By growing in self control, temperance, and prudence, and fortitude. How will this make the world a better place? That’s a bit trickier. It will make my husband and I each a little bit ‘different’ in a good way, which I will then have a positive effect on the people that we touch with our daily interactions (kind of a ripple effect), also the waste we produce will be greatly lessened since everything is natural – less packaging, preservatives, etc. so it will be good for the physical world too. (Gotta be a good steward!)

People always think it’s going to cost so much to eat healthy. But the truth is #1) that obviously it’s worth it, and #2) you don’t need to buy grass fed, cage free, organic everything. As my mother-in-law told me, “it’s better, best.” Those things might be the best, but eating food that follows the Paleo guidelines is better than eating junk! For us ‘better‘ it is going to have to be, after all we are “Ballin’ on a budget” as my husband would say. (He makes me laugh, I love that man)

I will post updates on my journey, and recipes, as the year progresses.  Wish me luck!! This is a BIG ONE. I have to say that having this blog, even if there are only a few people who read it…(thanks family)… really helps me to hold myself accountable to what I say here. Ex – Since I posted about reigniting your spiritual life I have began taking my daily prayer time again faithfully, something I had failed at for a long time – YAY!! Thank you for giving me that opportunity!

Good luck making your resolution this year. Do something that is going to change your life for the better, chose something that is meaningful to you so you will persevere even when it gets hard. If you know what you’re doing to do tell me about it and share your ‘why’ in the comments!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Making a New Years Resolution You Can Keep

Leave a Reply

